SubArctic Improv and Experimental Arts is a monthly performance presented by Mile Zero Dance and curated by Jen Mesch & Allison Balcetis.



SubArctic presents a forum for a wide array of formats, improv structures, collaboration, and experimentation. Performances are at Mile Zero Dance’s Spazio Performativo, 10816 95th Street. Start times are 8:00 pm. $15 o.b.o at the door. For more information, contact us at


We take submissions on an ongoing basis. Please submit a simplified proposal, no more than 2 pages to include a brief project proposal, a short artist biography, a short CV, and no more than 2 or 3 work examples, preferably links and smaller files.


September 10, 2015 

Jodie Vandekerkhove (dance)
Jen Mesch (dance)
Thom Golub (bass)
Allison Balcetis (saxophone)
Nate Wooley (trumpet)
Yoav Engelberg (text)
David Janzen (visual art)


October 15, 2015

Jen Dunford (dance)
Bridget Jessome (dance)
Dave Wall (guitar and electronics)
Damn Magpies (music)
MARSH (text, sound art)
Tyler Sherard (visual art)


November 19, 2015

Maggie Bennett (dance)
Allison Kause (dance)
Krista Posyniak (dance)
BlipVert (electronic music)
Ken Read (trombone)
Michelle Milenkovic (voice)
Tim Rechner (visual art)


December 17, 2015

Amber Borotsik (dance)
Brian Webb (dance)
Scott Smallwood (electronic music)
Michael Toepfer (electronic music)
Mari Sasano (text)
Leslie Sharpe (visual art)


January 21, 2016
Kate Stashko (dance)
Thunder Lightning Heart (dance)
Pigeon Breeders (electronic music)
Nico Arnáez (bass)
Vincent Forcier (text)
Sydney Lancaster (visual art)


February 11, 2016

Lin Snelling (dance)
Tamara Bliss, Wendy Gervais, Pirkko Markula-Denison, Kathy Metzger-Corriveau, Mary Ann Rintoul, Jodie Vandekerkhove (dance)
Jamie Hamaguchi (guitars)
Raylene Campbell (laptop, electronics)
Russel Cobb (text, storytelling)
Parker Thiessen (visual art and electronic music)


May 19, 2016
Raena Waddell (dance)
Vincent Forcier (dance)
Jason Borys (electronic music)
eXperimental Music Improv Ensemble (XIME) (music)
Peter Midgley (text, sound)
Jesse Sherburne (visual art)


June 16, 2016

Richard Lee (dance)
Jeannie Vandekerkhove (dance)
Allison Balcetis and saxophone ensemble (music)
Jeffrey Roberts (guqin and electronics)
Ben Gorodetsky (text)
Ryan Wolters (visual art)